single page header

2007 Annual Blow Molding Conference
“Blow Molding Challenges and Opportunities”

October 10-11, 2007
Seagate Convention Center, Toledo, Ohio

The 2007 Annual Blow Molding Conference was held at the Seagate Convention Center in Toledo, Ohio.

This year’s conference included a distinguished list of attendees and keynote speakers. Day one Keynote Speaker was Ashok Sudan, Executive VP of Graham Packaging. Ashok spoke on the “Current State of the Industry, It’s Challenges & Opportunities”. Guest speakers included, Rob Krebs, American Chemistry Council, “Sustainability: Now and in the Future”, and Sam Belcher, Sabel Plastechs. Inc, who spoke on “Where Are We Going: Down or Up?

ABC 2007 also featured speakers who covered a multitude of topics related to blow molding. The topics ranged from packaging material advancements, automotive applications, packaging innovations, industrial design, sustainability, regulatory topics, and market trends, to education

In addition, the SPE Blow Molding Division’s annual awards were presented at dinner. Russell Ankenbrandt and Jason Merkle, both of Ferris State University, received, respectively, the John Raymonds Memorial and Carrie Fox Solin Memorial Student Scholarships. Student Design winners were Patrick Harris, Penn State Erie, for his “Kayak Cargo Carrier” design, and Rocky Viggiano, Penn State Erie, for his “Bipolar Fuel Cell Plates for Hydrogen Fuel Cells” design.

A special segment of the evening was dedicated to the SPE Blow Molding Division’s Lifetime Achievement Award. The 2007 Lifetime Achievement Award winner was Bill Gaiser, Founder of Broadway Industries.

ABC 2007 information can be accessed via the following links: