single page header

2006 Annual Blow Molding Conference
“Innovations in Blow Molding”

October 10th, 11th & 12th, 2006
MSU Management Center Troy, Michigan

For over a day and a half, the Blow Molding Industry descended on the MUS Education Center in Troy, Michigan, to attend the SPE Blow Molding Division’s annual technical showcase known as the Annual Blow Molding Conference, ABC 2006.

This year’s conference included a distinguished list of attendees and keynote speakers. Highlighting day one was the Keynote Speaker, Greg Dean, Vice President Plastipak, detailing how the packaging market and brand owner relationship are changing, and what is needed to meet those changes. Harold Fuller, Patent Attorney with Woodcock Washburn LLP, gave the audience an enlightened overview of the intellectual property activity affecting the Blow Molding Industry.

The conference featured speakers who covered industry segments in both packaging and industrial applications. From resin developments to machinery innovations to automation, design and safety, no topic was missed. Attendees expressed great satisfaction regarding the scope and details they were exposed to during the conference.

SPE International was well represented by Len Czuba, who discussed with attendees the societies goals and objectives. All attendees were also given the opportunity to tour R&B Plastics Machinery, Saline, MI, a local precision built blow mold and trim tooling producer.

The SPE Blow Molding Division’s annual awards were presented at dinner, which highlighted student scholarship recipients, and student design winners. The 2006 Student Scholarship winners were Daniel Dempsey, Penn State Erie, and Matthew Gross, Penn College of Technology. Erica Scott and Ray McKee, Penn State Erie, won the Student Design Award with their entry “Plastic Tuba Mute”.

A special segment of the evening was dedicated to the SPE Blow Molding Division’s Lifetime Achievement Award. Martin Stark, President and Chief Operating Officer of Bekum America Corporation, was awarded the Lifetime Achievement Award for his lifelong contributions to the Blow Molding Industry.

ABC 2006 information can be accessed via the following links:

ABC 2006 Program

Keynote Address

Attendee List

Lifetime achievement award winner